Skip to content

Why 5.13?

January 29, 2013

Why 5.13 you ask? The short answer is that I want to climb 5.12 really well, and I want 5.11 to be easy. So 5.13 seems like a good target to help achieve my real goals that I just stated.

The long answer is this. At my age (31), I have given up hope of becoming an elite, sponsored rock climber. I am married, have 2 kids, and a wonderful career as Fireman. But I love rock climbing. It is my passion and is often all I can think about. And I want to climb better, just like anyone else out there I am sure. Why? Well, answer for me is two fold. My personality makes me strive for new challenges. I get bored with something once I achieve it. (Lucky for me, there is more rock to climb than days I have left alive) The second and main reason is that I would like to be able to climb 5.12 well, with 5.11 being somewhat easy. The reason I say this is that it provides the opportunity to climb many more routes! From my local crags to the somewhat local climbing meca of Yosemite, I simply want more options.

The problem, as many of us know, is finding the time to climb. I climb as much as I can, a minimum once a week outdoors (weather permitting) and usually a few gym sessions throughout the week which vary between bouldering and climbing. While this may seem like a decent amount for a dad and husband I’m sure you would agree that more time on the rock is something to strive for. But it is what it is, and I will say I am lucky with 3 days a week to climb. When it comes to progressing and achieving my goal however, 3 days a week might not get me where I want to get. If it does, it might take a while. Unless I being some sort a training. And thats where this project comes in. You can read more about this project here.

From → General

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

